Reviews

7.9
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.5
Comfort
7.4
Property location
8.1
Facilities
7.1
Staff
9.1
Value
7.4

Reviews

    Steve
    gb

    Review score

    5.4
    22 September 2018
    Smallest rooms I have ever stayed in. No bedroom furniture. No wardrobe, no cupboards no drawers. Had to live out of suitcase. Staff were friendly and helpful, but if you walk from city centre it is 1.5 miles and you have t pass dozens of homeless and a couple of points of what looked like small black gangsters.
    Nothing
    gb

    Review score

    8.3
    21 September 2018

    Cozy and nice

    It’s expensive, but it is as cheap as it gets for somewhere decent in San Francisco. No parking, but there is one nearby which is not too expensive.
    It’s a very cozy hotel in a very well located area right in the middle of market street. The staff is very nice.
    Shay
    il

    Review score

    7.1
    20 September 2018
    We had a leak from the bathroom to the carpet in the room, the water sream wasn't so srtong.
    The crew were absolutely great!!! We get stuck and had to find place to sleep for the same night, and for 3 instead 2 people, and they did there best and found us a room. We could put our lugage immediatly, before the check in, and they helped us a lot in every question we had,
    Suzy
    nz

    Review score

    9.2
    19 September 2018
    The bed even though only a double was nice and comfy. The room was compact but OK. Chocolate nibbles at reception a welcome treat. Staff friendly and helpful. Transport systems really handy just outside the door.
    William
    sg

    Review score

    5.8
    17 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Geraldine
    fr

    Review score

    8.3
    17 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Zoltan
    hu

    Review score

    9.2
    16 September 2018
    Pay attention, queen size beds are only 180 - 185cm long, not 2 meters as expected based on international standards. In certain rooms you have to wait couple of minutes until you get warm water, but this is not deteriorating your comfort at all.
    Good location, however an ear plug is recommended since Market street facing rooms are loud due to traffic. Staff is helpful and flexible if you have extra needs. Atmosphere and design of the hotel is is unique, rooms and floors are clean. 0- 24 hours lobby service.
    Jacqui
    au

    Review score

    6.2
    14 September 2018
    My room faced the street so it was very noisy! Also, the room had morning sun which made the room heat up like a sauna as soon as the sun was up. No cooling system or even a fan. Made it quite uncomfortable to be able to sleep in and get ready for the day.
    The hotel was fine, rooms were clean and comfortable
    Colin
    gb

    Review score

    5.4
    13 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Jamie
    au

    Review score

    5.4
    9 September 2018
    Getting access to hot water is a real problem. We were told we needed to run the water full bore for five minutes before showering, but in reality the water needed to be running for much longer before it became hot. Really must be fixed.
    Location is good.
    au

    Review score

    4.6
    7 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    ca

    Review score

    9.2
    4 September 2018
    There wasn't parking at the hotel.
    How helpful Rocky and Evelyn were.
    Katherine
    au

    Review score

    5.4
    21 September 2018

    A charming small hotel, conveniently located, but with small beds!

    Our booking for a Standard Queen room came with a Double bed (with a far too soft mattress). This is really misrepresentation. Furthermore, our room on the 3rd floor faced the street where three enormous street lights shone bright yellow light (inadequate Venetian blinds and a non-block out curtain) throughout the night, giving the small room a daylight feel. The sash window rope was also broken so the only way to keep the window open was to heave it half way up and slot the sliding bolt in - no intermediary positions. The check in man was very friendly but his English was so poor that he couldn’t understand our queries about the room/bed size, nor our phone call for the closest BART Station when we rang from SFO. That’s really not helpful for guests who have concerns.
    The hotel has charm and is in an excellent location. It’s been refurbished tastefully.
    Alexis
    fr

    Review score

    7.9
    21 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Jason
    us

    Review score

    8.3
    20 September 2018

    Not fancy but very comfortable

    Staff very helpful and great location. Tiny sink, though, and the water took a bit of time to warm up. I expected this from the other reviews - but overall I really felt comfortable and would definitely stay here again.
    James(Randy)
    us

    Review score

    3.5
    18 September 2018

    Do not book a room at this hotel.

    No air conditioning. No amenities. No ice bucket or glasses, no coffee maker, no drawers for clothes. Extremely small room. No lobby to speak of. One very small, rickety elevator. We booked the room with a non-refundable rate long ago, but I never expected a hotel without air conditioning. Had I known that , I would not have booked the room. Management would not consider even a partial refund, so we're stuck.
    Front desk staff were friendly.
    Lina
    eg

    Review score

    5.0
    15 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    us

    Review score

    7.1
    14 September 2018

    Small but friendly, centrally located hotel.

    Very small room, and hotel has no lobby or reception area. You enter, check in through a window, and it's up the stairs you go to your room. So if you need to do some work or hang out for a bit outside of your room, there's no place to do that. The room was clean, but the bathroom smelled like mildew, probably from the bath mat. Several cracked tiles in the bathroom.
    On the plus side, the hotel staff was all extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is a good value for San Francisco, located in an area that is pretty safe and walkable, and close to the trolley stops. Overall, it was a decent place to stay, and there are rooms available that are larger if you are willing to pay more.
    Kernius
    lt

    Review score

    8.3
    13 September 2018

    Cozy hotel in Market street

    We had a problem with water (no hot water) in one room. Then we got other room and it was better, but last morning the shower was not working at all. It seems the hotel is in old building and that makes additional issues to maintanance water suply.
    Updated hotel was cozy and nice. Wifi worked quite wel. I liked a coffe and tea at reception - really good to compare to regular american coffee in other hotels. Definetely i would stay again.
    C.Didi
    de

    Review score

    7.5
    12 September 2018
    Our room hat no closet...just a stand on the wall an no place to put our staff.
    Very clean and good located. Public transportation right next to the hotel. Polite staff.
Loading reviews